Bravery, Tenacity And Dedication Recognised At Leeds District Awards Night

Friday, November 17, 2023

Incredible acts of courage, commitment to public service and dedication to keeping Leeds communities safe have been recognised at a special awards ceremony.

Police officers and staff, police volunteers, and members of the public were honoured at the Leeds District Awards for their outstanding actions across a range of incidents, investigations, and community initiatives.

Award recipients with Chief Supt Dodds and SLT members at last night's event
Award recipients with Chief Supt Dodds and SLT members at last night's event

The event, held at Leeds United’s Elland Road stadium last night, saw Leeds District Commander, Chief Superintendent Steve Dodds joined by members of the district’s Senior Leadership Team and VIP guests, including Assistant Chief Constable for Local Policing & Safeguarding, Damien Miller, senior representatives from partner agencies including West Yorkshire Police Federation, Leeds City Council, West Yorkshire Fire & Rescue Service, the NHS, Leeds Rhinos Foundation and The British Army, as well as key community representatives.

The awards received financial support from West Yorkshire Group Insurance Trust, which is administered by the West Yorkshire Police Federation, and facilities management company Mitie.

Members of West Yorkshire Police Band performed as about 120 guests gathered in the Norman Hunter Suite to see a total of 21 team and individual awards presented and to hear the human stories that lay behind each one.

Among them were officers and members of the public whose courageous actions had saved lives and made the difference in a number of dangerous and life-threatening situations.

Outstanding work that has seen offenders brought to justice and communities kept safe was also recognised, along with the vital contributions made to policing by Special Constables, Police Volunteers, Police Cadets, and Business Support and Secretariat staff.

A number of special category awards were also presented, including Police Community Support Officer of the Year, Special Constable of the Year, Team of the Year, Employee of the Year, and the Lifetime Achievement Award.

Chief Superintendent Dodds said: “It makes me genuinely very proud to recognise the incredible acts of bravery, tenacity and dedication to keeping people safe that have been displayed by those presented with awards at last night’s event.

“These are all people who have stepped up when it really counts, many in very challenging and dangerous situations where their actions have literally made the difference between life and death.

“Alongside these heroic stories were many others who have shown continuous commitment to performing their role to the highest standards and providing the best possible service to the public and our communities.

“Those honoured at the event were from across the policing family, including police officers, police staff and members of the public as well as special constables and police volunteers, who selflessly give us their time. It clearly shows how important that collective effort by different individuals is to protecting the public and keeping Leeds safe.

“They are truly amazing people and should be very proud of their achievements which we hope will serve as an inspiration to others.”

District Commander’s Commendations were presented to:

PC George Hitchon, PC Gregg Banfield, PC Ross Boyle and A/PS Suzanne Sykes.

PC Tom Jones and PC Jaime Sanchez.

Police Cadet Mea Jones.

Police Support Volunteer Melanie Jones

Senior Leadership Team Secretary Karen Pearson

Business Support Assistant Tracey Kay

Members of the public Merrick Morrison and Mahboob Hussain.

Members of the public Gary Bankhead and Nicola Welbourn

Special Category Awards:

District Commander’s Commendation – Member of the public Christopher Bruce.

Crime Investigation Award – DC Alan Andrews

Police Mentor of the Year Award – DC Kasie Baines

Outstanding Leadership Award – DS Carol Symon

Police Apprentice of the Year Award -  PC Brittany Lowe

Special Constable of the Year Award – Section Officer Steven Houghton

Volunteer of the Year Award – Dr John Kirkby CBE

PCSO of the Year Award – PCSO Christopher Moseley

Members of the Public (Contribution to Community Award) – Mr Harry Turner

Solving Problems with Partners Award – PC Gemma Brown

Team of the Year Award – Leeds District Neighbourhood Impact Team – PS Adam Harper, PC Thomas Robinson, PC Sophie Walker, PC James Cooper, PC James Roose, PC Lindsey Towers, DC Jack Pattison

Employee of the Year – SC Kieran Abbott

Lifetime Achievement Award – DC Darren Young

News type